Click to go to back to www.131mirafiori.com Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 02, 2024, 03:37:23 PM
Home Help Login Register

+  131mirafiori forum
|-+  131mirafiori home
| |-+  General discussion (Moderator: Admin)
| | |-+  2000 Tc engine doesn't run
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9 Go Down Print
Author Topic: 2000 Tc engine doesn't run  (Read 66619 times)
mirafiori76

« on: August 15, 2010, 09:04:41 PM »

Hi everybody,
I have a serious problem even since I am a Fiat mechanic for 25 years and am rebuilding a group 4 car.
I have a 1978 (one of the first) 131 Racing which won't run. The engine simply doesn't start. I already checked timing and compression, changed cilinder-head, double carbs, complete ignition but it won't run. Towed it three blocks and changed ignition-timing several times. Somewhere between big flames coming from the carbs and big bangs from the exhaust there must be a moment that the engine will run, I think. Does anybody have a suggestion? What am I missing here?
This engine has the following: race-cams with adjustable camwheels,
                                                bigger valves which are perfectly timed.
                                                new timing belt, timing ok
                                                new ignition coil, new cables and sparkplugs
                                                new distributor
                                                double 44 carbs which can breath freely
                                                4-2-1 exhaust manifold

HEEEEEEEELP
Thanks,

Mike

Mike.131 Abarth group 4, 131 Racing Walter Rohrl, 131 1600 CL
curt

« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2010, 08:42:17 AM »

Hi Mike -as you are already a mechanic Iguess youve checked this.
It sounds like from what you describe as flames and banging that the distibutor drive is 180 degrees out.Is it a cam or block dizzy ?
First Id check timing belt is correctly on i.e. all marks aligned correctly.