Click to go to back to www.131mirafiori.com Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 02:12:29 PM
Home Help Login Register

+  131mirafiori forum
|-+  131mirafiori home
| |-+  General discussion (Moderator: Admin)
| | |-+  Rust proofing my 131
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Rust proofing my 131  (Read 9023 times)
kev131
Founding Member

« on: December 22, 2006, 01:23:55 PM »

Well the day is fast approaching for this task and the stripping began yesterday. I'm not a mechanic nor do I have much experience of stripping...cars... so the power screw driver is being used selectively.

Whats gone well :
  • Sport trim and rear arches.
    Boot lining and rubbers.
    C pillars
    Passenger door linings.
    Rear seat
    Sill covers
    Finding additional access holes from the previous dinitrol treatment that will make the job easier.

Whats not gone so well:
  • Front arches (seem to be secured somewhere that I cant access and after reattaching one it does not line up exactly with the front spoiler.
    One screw from each cill cover has stripped some carpet as it unscrewed.
    Trying to remove the wheel arch liners - The fixings look that they may not reattach if removed.

Overall the car still seems rust free despite this most intimate (and almost gynacological) examination. The interior of the doors seems to have been lined with black plastic and the speakers covered in clear plastic - Dosnt look standard - More like a fastidious first owner.

We hope to perform the work on two days over the Xmas break with 6 litres of Dinitrol at ?90.00. I'll take some photos of progress and post them later on.

Hope everyone has a good Christmas.

Kev

Kevin Doyle
Fiat 131 Mirafiori Sport 2000TC
Fiat 131 Supermirafiori S3 2000TC
Limerick, Ireland
jseabolt

« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2006, 12:11:18 PM »