Click to go to back to www.131mirafiori.com Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 11:12:56 AM
Home Help Login Register

+  131mirafiori forum
|-+  131mirafiori home
| |-+  The Garage (Moderator: Admin)
| | |-+  Alternator control light
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Alternator control light  (Read 6030 times)
mirafiori76

« on: October 30, 2013, 05:15:06 PM »

In all those years of being a mechanic i have never encountered the following problem:

I have an alternator control light that switches on and off everytime it feels like it. No matter the surcomtances it lits up and off. Sometimes not for days but sometimes every few minutes.
Anyone ever had this appeirance? Is it a failing diode bridge?

Mike.131 Abarth group 4, 131 Racing Walter Rohrl, 131 1600 CL
Thotos
Founding Member

Theo Kyriacou

« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2013, 05:27:45 PM »

Is it a Bosch alternator? If so, then the problem is with the regulator. If it's a Magnetti Marelli unit then the problem is with the triode or the triode connections.

Theo Kyriacou
Enfield, UK
mirafiori76

« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2013, 06:47:36 PM »

I can't tell. This one has no markings whatsoever. But i guess it's better to change it before it really breaks down.

Thotos
Founding Member

Theo Kyriacou

« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2013, 06:59:04 PM »

Bosch units have an all-in-one regulator and brush holder at the back. It'll look something like this:

or might be just a black box. If you have anything like that on the back of the alternator, change it (?10 to ?20) and it'll most probably be fine.

Magnetti Marelli alternators have a separate brush holder and regulator and have a triode within the alternator to control the charging light. The triode is soldered but if the joint is broken and sometimes touches it'll cause the symptoms you described.

The Magneti Marelli regulator will probably look like this: